City Council

Xcellence > Departments > Administration



Elected Officials
The City Council is the governing body of the City of Salisbury.  The Council is comprised of five members who are elected on a nonpartisan basis for two-year terms.  Each Council Member serves at-large and represents the entire City.  Following an election, Council holds an organizational meeting and elects one of its members to serve as Mayor, and one to serve as Mayor Pro Tem, for the following two-year period.  The Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem have the same powers as the other members of Council and vote upon all issues.  The Mayor serves as the spokesperson for the Council and is authorized to execute legal documents on behalf of the City.

Meetings of the City Council are held the first and third Tuesday of each month at 5:00 p.m. in Council Chambers located at City Hall, 217 South Main Street.

Mayor Karen K. Alexander
P.O. Box 479
Salisbury, NC  28145
(704) 638-5231

Mayor Pro Tem Maggie Blackwell
422 Mitchell Avenue
Salisbury, NC 28144
(704) 754-7454
Council Member Brian Miller
c/o BB&T
508 Jake Alexander Boulevard, West
Salisbury, NC  28144
(704) 223-2181

 Council Member Kenneth L. Hardin
107 Willow Road
Salisbury, NC 28147

Council Member David Post
P.O. Box 1666
Salisbury, NC 28145
(704) 267-7000​

 Council Regular Meeting Dates


​January 5
January 19

February 2
February 16

March 1
March 15

April 5
April 19

May 3
May 17

June 7
June 21

No first meeting
July 19

August 2
August 16

September 6
September 20

October 4
October 18

November 1
November 15

December 6
No second meeting